Cambio di Narratore, e Altre Variazioni

Di solito non metto quì poesie(1), ma Billy Collins mi ha colpito.

Nella poesia che segue(2) infatti scrive di un argomento noto, rapporto tra cane e compagno umano, prendendolo da una prospettiva diversa (quella del cane, per quanto più d’uno l’abbia già fatto) ed inusuale (lo capirete leggendo).

La mia idea è sempre di fornire stimoli a chi scrive, una storia può essere lì, pronta, da raccontare, basta guardarla con occhi curiosi. In realtà anche fornire a chi legge qualcosa di interessante.

The Revenant  by Billy Collins

I am the dog you put to sleep,
as you like to call the needle of oblivion,
come back to tell you this simple thing:
I never liked you–not one bit.

When I licked your face,
I thought of biting off your nose.
When I watched you toweling yourself dry,
I wanted to leap and unman you with a snap.

I resented the way you moved,
your lack of animal grace,
the way you would sit in a chair to eat,
a napkin on your lap, knife in your hand.

I would have run away,
but I was too weak, a trick you taught me
while I was learning to sit and heel,
and–greatest of insults–shake hands without a hand.

I admit the sight of the leash
would excite me
but only because it meant I was about
to smell things you had never touched.

You do not want to believe this,
but I have no reason to lie.
I hated the car, hated the rubber toys,
disliked your friends and, worse, your relatives.

The jingling of my tags drove me mad.
You always scratched me in the wrong place.
All I ever wanted from you
was food and fresh water in my metal bowls.

While you slept, I watched you breathe
as the moon rose in the sky.
It took all of my strength
not to raise my head and howl.

Now I am free of the collar,
the yellow raincoat, monogrammed sweater,
the absurdity of your lawn,
and that is all you need to know about this place

except what you already supposed
and are glad it did not happen sooner–
that everyone here can read and write,
the dogs in poetry, the cats and all the others in prose.

_____________

(1) non ho nulla contro le poesie, anzi trovo che siano la massima espressione:
– della ricerca della Parola, proprio quella, solo lei;
– della capacità di sintesi nel raccontare e nello stesso tempo ampiezza nell’evocare.

Solo che in genere hanno un tono diverso da quello che volevo dare al blog, tutto qua.

(2) mi scuso, come altre volte, per la mancata trasposizione in Italiano, ma sono veramente scarso come traduttore, già in prosa, figurarsi quì.
_____________

La poesia è cortesia di Writersonwriting (se cliccate sul link e volete sentirla letta dall’autore dovete andare più o meno a 20’34”. Il resto è un’intervista, comunque interessante).

1 Commento

Archiviato in scrivere

Una risposta a “Cambio di Narratore, e Altre Variazioni

  1. Ormai sono lanciato e ne aggiungo un’altra.
    Più lo leggo e più mi piace, ‘sto ragazzo.

    Dharma

    The way the dog trots out the front door
    every morning
    without a hat or an umbrella,
    without any money
    or the keys to her doghouse
    never fails to fill the saucer of my heart
    with milky admiration.

    Who provides a finer example
    of a life without encumbrance —
    Thoreau in his curtainless hut
    with a single plate, a single spoon?
    Gandhi with his staff and his holy diapers?

    Off she goes into the material world
    with nothing but her brown coat
    and her modest blue collar,
    following only her wet nose,
    the twin portals of her steady breathing,
    followed only by the plume of her tail.

    If only she did not shove the cat aside
    every morning
    and eat all his food
    what a model of self-containment she
    would be,
    what a paragon of earthly detachment.
    If only she were not so eager
    for a rub behind the ears,
    so acrobatic in her welcomes,
    if only I were not her god.

    — Billy Collins

Rispondi

